I Don’t Know What I Made for Dinner: or Name That Dish

It was dinner time and I put some chicken in the microwave to defrost. I don’t know why. There was no plan, no thinking it through, no idea, no recipe. Just chicken breasts defrosting away. 

This was a problem. I looked around the fridge and pantry for inspiration and ingredients.  There were weird things. Mangos and kiwis. Yogurt and applesauce.  Sweet potato chips and blue popping corn. 

Then I spotted the tomato paste. Now, the whole eating clean thing doesn’t typically include tomato paste for all I know, but there was only one ingredient on the label (tomatoes) and I wasn’t about to slow cook my own tomatoes down to a concentrated paste this late in the game.  And there was spinach. And basil in the container garden. An idea began to form. 

Like I said, I don’t know what this is or have a name for it. Help!  Name this dish!

You will need:

6 chicken breasts

4 ounces cream cheese or mozzarella

2 cups baby spinach leaves 

1 12 ounce can tomato paste

1 cup chicken stock

For pesto:

1 cup fresh basil

1/2 cup walnuts 

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flake

1 clove garlic

2 or 3 ounces Parmesan

1/4 cup olive oil (may need more or less to get to desired consistency)

Additional parm or mozzarella to grate on top

Preheat oven to 350. 

Place pesto ingredients except olive oil in small food processor. Pulse and blend into a chunky paste. 


Like this:


Then, drizzle in olive oil, blending into pesto. 

Place chicken breasts in a single layer in a dish.  Cover with baby spinach.  


Dollop cream cheese or mozzarella on spinach. 


In a separate bowl, whisk together tomato paste and chicken stock. Pour over chicken. Pour pesto over tomato sauce. 


Cover with freshly grated Parmesan, mozzarella, or both!  (Why not?!)


(I love my Microplane graters.  Clouds of cheese make me happy.)

Bake for 30-35 minutes.


I don’t know what this is, but the kids loved it!   I didn’t even fix a side. There’s spinach in it, so there was a veggie in there. Mommy cheat. 

So, this yummy recipe needs a name, I guess. Any ideas?

Please like, share, comment, and follow!

Much love and light!

MCH

Leave a Reply

